Skip to content

51. Transportation

30/03/2013

It’s the last week in March, running up to the Easter weekend, and just getting from Ludlow to Dorset for a week’s work on the fuselage has proved a considerable adventure. I left home in about 4in (100mm) of snow, and made my way down off our hill via a single track road that leads through the wood. The alternative routes involve a very steep hill with a hairpin bend, and a road through a field which is difficult to find in snow, so this seemed the best bet.

Laurel branches weighed down with snow had to be swept aside

Laurel branches weighed down with snow had to be swept aside

The snow had weighed down laurel branches, and I drove carefully through them, until I came to one which had broken and I had to get out and pull it aside.

A branch broken by the weight of snow had to be dragged aside before I could continue

A branch broken by the weight of snow had to be dragged aside before I could continue

I carried on down, but after about a mile I came to a pair of holly trees which had broken and were completely blocking the road. There was no possibility of shifting them, so I had to reverse all the way back up the road through the hanging laurel branches for nearly a mile until I could turn round and try again down the field road. Thankfully a 4X4 had been up it beforehand, so I was able to follow in its tracks. Off the hill, the snow was slushier, and progress wasn’t too difficult, but we drove through light snow showers from Ludlow all the way down to Marlborough.

Thankfully there was no snow at Blandford, but the cold north easterly wind has kept us all wrapped up in many layers of clothing all week.

From → Building

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

