Skip to content

6 May 1916. Imbros.

10/05/2016

5 May.

Bunnie in 3037

Looking for big ship in straits. Took 20 min to climb to 10,000 ft. Not nearly good enough. Strong N.E. wind and bumpy near the ground. Landing quite fair.

Dickinson (entry dated 7 May* – the last entry in his diary)

Fitzherbert, Bremner and Blandy off before dawn to bomb a big ship which is reported in Ach Bashi Liman. Slept much better. Much cooler, north wind. S.P. told me that he had sent to the Wing Captain for his approval for my leave and that I could go next week.

*A strange inconsistency, this. Dickinson’s diary gives every appearance of having been written up every evening, and should therefore be dated correctly. The same applies to Bunnie, and yet these two entries, which are unequivocally of the same event, are two dated two day apart.

6 May.

Bunnie in 1264.

Took four sixteen pounders to bomb E15**. Started at dawn. I came down to 500 ft. I first tried to attack her in a fore and aft line, but the wind was cross wise and I drifted a little and never saw her through the hole***. I then attacked her athwartships, and with the wind. My first was rather short, second I did not see. I circled and attacked her again in the same direction, but about 10 yards short, second one ten yards over. Blandy in the Nieuport was just above me. A certain amount of archie, and I think rifle fire. Very slight N.E. wind. Landing good.

**Another little mystery here. HMS E15 was a British submarine that ran aground on the Turkish seafront in April 1915, and was sunk a few days later in a heroic action by two Naval picket boats armed with torpedoes to stop her falling into the hands of the Turks. Today she lies in 8m of water. so why, more than a year after she sank, were they attacking her again?

*** This is the entry that makes me think 1264 may have had a hole cut in the floor of the cockpit, maybe like the picture below

Scout C with possible bomb aiming hole in the floor

Scout C with possible bomb aiming hole in the floor

Bunnie in Nieuport 12 s/no 8903.

Taking Burnaby to observe foreshore batteries while Abercrombie, Grafton and M.17 were firing. No excitements. Practically no wind. I again pancaked a bit, even though I was wearing white glasses. I can’t quite judge these machines properly the last few feet. However landing was tail down and slow.

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

